Summer Break. Finally!

 


Image


 

There were still forty-five minutes to the official ‘pens down’ time, when I put my pen down today. I turned the pages of my answer book to see how many it had taken. 4? 5, maybe? Not more. Hmm. So, then, what had taken me so long? I had spent a good two hours and forty-five minutes answering the questions. There had been four in all and half of it was… Ah, yes! Creative writing. I tend to be slow in planning the beginning of a write-up, any write-up – from narrative to expository and everything in between. But once planned, it goes on smoothly for pages.

Except that I could not go on for pages in this case. There was an upper limit to check that. 15 score words. Which is to say, I accorded at least one hour to each set of 300 words.

What you have now, is a picture of the few minutes that marked my transition from an arduous academic year, to three months of unbridled freedom.

Summer break. Finally!

To the outsider, this break is just another holiday. To us, it is relief. Not long-awaited, really. But relief nevertheless.

By this time every year, we have made it through the coldest of winters, the hottest of summers, don’t-have-the-energy-to-calculate-how-many credit hours, four exam seasons, and two semesters. All, to good effect. And by this time every year, you either give us a break, or you have us break.


To the outsider, this break is just another holiday. To us, it is relief. Not long-awaited, really. But relief nevertheless.


This month in particular, was proving particularly draining for my vitality. I’m glad it’s over. I could not have gone on any longer with this. How long is it even humanly possible? I wouldn’t know. Never gave it a try.

The contents of the academic year, though, aren’t meant to be the contents of this entry. The only real thing in front of me right now is a promising summer break, with a whole range of exciting prospects.

My peers plan on doing internships this time round. I, of course, don’t.

However, I still have an agenda to spend it by. It’s a flexible agenda that I follow rigidly. Most of it is eating healthy and sleeping early, with ample room for oversleeping and daydreaming.

And I’ll be studying, alright. But nothing that I should, only what I would. I have a laptop, access to the internet, books, notebooks and pens. I am the master of my destiny. For these three months, that is.


And I’ll be studying, alright. But nothing that I should, only what I would.


Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a bag to pack. I’ll be spending a significant chunk of the days to come in the city that was once the seat of the Mughal Empire. Also, I’ll take a friend along with me. Should it be Vali Nasr, to enlighten me on the subject of American Foreign Policy? Or should it be Sartaj Aziz, to enlighten me on the subject of Pakistan’s political history? Neither. My brain needs a break too. So, then, Emily Bronte, maybe?

Ah, yes! Wuthering Heights. Now that would be it.

Leave a Reply

